Skip to content
Merton Counts — Merton, in numbers.Local help →

Merton, in numbers

People and living standards

Merton council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Merton council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 170,924 in 1991 to 218,891 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Merton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 180,623 people in 1996; 218,891 people in 2025. 21.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Merton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991170,924
1992171,672
1993173,711
1994175,754
1995177,695
1996180,623
1997181,675
1998182,355
1999185,062
2000188,196
2001191,106
2002190,561
2003189,298
2004188,908
2005190,583
2006192,520
2007194,260
2008195,859
2009198,136
2010199,136
2011200,543
2012205,166
2013208,529
2014211,025
2015213,791
2016215,514
2017215,431
2018216,171
2019217,219
2020217,101
2021215,426
2022216,028
2023218,697
2024220,020
2025218,891
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Merton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 35,644 people in 1996; 39,811 people in 2025. 11.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Merton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199131,657
199232,424
199333,386
199434,334
199534,978
199635,644
199736,154
199836,477
199936,418
200036,529
200136,590
200236,368
200336,166
200435,934
200536,272
200636,600
200737,090
200837,586
200938,094
201038,741
201139,011
201240,456
201341,217
201441,788
201542,490
201643,072
201743,055
201843,219
201943,306
202042,996
202142,214
202242,156
202341,626
202440,957
202539,811
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Merton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 119,770 people in 1996; 149,332 people in 2025. 24.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Merton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991113,075
1992113,234
1993114,415
1994115,801
1995117,328
1996119,770
1997120,640
1998121,252
1999124,201
2000127,387
2001130,252
2002130,108
2003129,259
2004129,414
2005131,003
2006132,770
2007134,312
2008135,478
2009137,188
2010137,362
2011138,315
2012140,915
2013143,019
2014144,540
2015146,299
2016146,987
2017146,705
2018146,829
2019147,284
2020147,232
2021145,920
2022145,968
2023148,706
2024149,990
2025149,332
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Merton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,209 people in 1996; 29,748 people in 2025. 18% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Merton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199126,192
199226,014
199325,910
199425,619
199525,389
199625,209
199724,881
199824,626
199924,443
200024,280
200124,264
200224,085
200323,873
200423,560
200523,308
200623,150
200722,858
200822,795
200922,854
201023,033
201123,217
201223,795
201324,293
201424,697
201525,002
201625,455
201725,671
201826,123
201926,629
202026,873
202127,292
202227,904
202328,365
202429,073
202529,748
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 215,187 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Merton · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh40,01918.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African22,88710.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups12,7655.9%
White129,61760.2%
Other ethnic group9,8994.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 199,693 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Merton · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White129,60664.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9,3344.7%
Asian/Asian British36,14318.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British20,81110.4%
Other ethnic group3,7991.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 187,908 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Merton · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White140,88375%
Mixed5,8693.1%
Asian/Asian British20,80711.1%
Black/Black British14,6267.8%
Chinese/Other5,7233%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 46.3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Merton council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £15,459 per person in 1997; £37,982 per person in 2024. 145.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Merton council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199715,459
199815,825
199916,571
200017,507
200117,859
200218,150
200319,113
200420,306
200521,124
200621,637
200722,864
200823,362
200922,807
201023,424
201123,642
201224,497
201325,531
201426,247
201527,808
201628,173
201728,351
201829,639
201930,431
202030,032
202131,662
202233,749
202335,655
202437,982
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Merton council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 45.7% in 1997; 46.3% in 2024. 0.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Merton council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199745.7
199846.2
199946.5
200047.1
200144.4
200243.5
200346.6
200449.6
200550.3
200647.8
200749
200848.3
200942.4
201045
201145.1
201245
201345.8
201445.1
201546.2
201646.3
201743.9
201845.2
201944.4
202043.1
202144.9
202247
202345.8
202446.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

64.9%

21 March 2021 · Merton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.8%

21 March 2021 · Merton council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14.2%

21 March 2021 · Merton council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.4%

21 March 2021 · Merton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£616,000

July 2026 · Merton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£2,172

August 2026 · Merton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.